2019 YouthCon Scholarship: Perfecting the Act of Giving Back

Grand Prize of $4000 and a Leadership Development Summer Internship

Welcome to the 13th Annual YouthCon Scholarship!

The YouthCon Scholarship is hosted by AASuccess, a Falls Church-based nonprofit dedicated to empowering the youth to gain confidence while fostering leadership skills by living our motto of “perfecting the act of giving back”.
Our scholarship allows high school students living in the Washington D.C. Metropolitan area with ideas to be actively involved with philanthropic work to make a difference in neighborhoods, with the support of AASuccess. We award innovative and driven students with the mindsets of giving back, and those seeking to strengthen their skills such as writing, presentation, and leadership.
“Giving back is one major component of what makes AASuccess unique. We believe in not only dreaming of change, but also taking action to create that change. Share with us a local or community issue you are passionate about. How would you start working towards a solution with a starting budget of $200?”
Applicants submit a 500-1000 word essay based on the prompt.
oral presentation
Semi-finalists present for five to ten minutes in front of a panel of professional judges to explain how they’ll execute their ideas, followed by a five minute Q&A from the judges.
First place winner receives half of their prize and $200 at the beginning of their internship to execute their idea. Upon internship completion, remaining prize will be given.

Important Dates

  • 2/24/19: Essay due at 11:59 PM
  • 3/23/19: Essay results released to applicants via email
  • 4/6/19: Oral Presentation
  • 4/8/19: Oral Presentation results released to applicants via email
  • 6/22/19: First place winner starts internship
  • 8/3/19: Internship ends with a presentation
  • Award Ceremony (TBD): All finalists must attend to receive their award presented by esteemed senators and delegates of Virginia. Family members are welcomed to join.

Our Endorsers

  • U.S. Senator Mark Warner
  • U.S. Senator Tim Kaine
  • VA Delegate Kaye Kory
  • VA Delegate Mark Keam
  • Fairfax County School Board Member and former Chairman Ilryong Moon